View into the church

St Nicholas Church

The Parish Church of St Nicholas is situated in Wasing Park and has at least one service a month. It is a wonderful chapel in a truly peaceful setting and people are able to visit at any time.

Although mainly 15th century, in 1761 it was largely rebuilt in brick, covered in a rough cast stucco with stone windows and door dressings, under a clay tile roof. It is topped by a white timber clad bell turret, capped by a pyramid roof in which there are two bells, one dated 1664; the other is believed to have been cast 700 years ago.

The chancel is Victorian, and was further rebuilt during the 20th century, but has the oldest features of the church - the 13th century lancets. Other notable features include the fine Jacobean pulpit and noted plaster strapwork of fruit, flowers, angels and scrollwork around the nave and transept windows.

Within the walls of the nave and south transept there is a wonderful selection of stained and painted glass windows. These range from simple round arched windows containing 15th century glass, to windows with panels dating from 1629, 1649 and 1839. The most recent stained glass window is the late 20th century memorial window to the late Sir William and Lady Mount on the North wall of the Church.

Please contact the Benefice Wedding Co-ordinator if you would like to explore the possibility of having a Marriage Ceremony or a Blessing of Marriage in the church.

Samantha Cave; weddings@awb.org.uk 07568 184704